Set on the banks of the River Thames with astounding views, this Grade II listed building was the former offices of the London County Council.
The council was established in 1889 and previously occupied a site in St. James’s. Work began on this new building in 1909. Original construction was temporarily halted by the discovery of a Roman ship, which is now housed in the Museum of London. The offices were eventually officially opened in 1922 by King George V and Queen Mary. Once the council moved out in 1986, the building lay empty for a time, but after extensive refurbishment, The London Marriott County Hall opened for business in 1998. Today the hotel continues to provide guests with stunning views of the London Eye, Big Ben and the Houses of Parliament, and Westminster Bridge. Among the amenities on offer, there is a pool, a bar serving 100 gins, and the beautiful Library serving afternoon tea.
London Marriott County Hall Hotel
t: +44 20 7928 5200